A large amount of time and care is invested in each stage of the work performed at Ragnar Hayn’s violin workshop.

Materials
Work on an instrument starts with the choice of materials. Materials of only the finest quality are used, including spruce wood from the Dolomites in Northern Italy, maple wood from Bosnia and oil varnish produced on the premises using historical formulae.

Models
Both new instruments and copies of old instruments are produced, parts of whose original form are reconstructed according to revived methods. First-class musicians are frequently consulted in the process, in order to ensure that the instruments fulfil the musicians’ high requirements, this both in terms of tonal quality and playing technique. Working techniques are always in line with the latest research on the historical and modern construction of stringed instruments.

Sound
An instrument is not complete until the sound has been tailored to the expectations and requirements of its future owner. Ragnar Hayn spends a great deal of time on individual consultations in order to ensure that the instrument�s potential is completely fulfilled. Consultation, sound adjustment and the instrument�s first inspection are therefore included.
Many orchestra and solo musicians have learned to appreciate the level of Ragnar Hayn�s dedication to his instruments from the start to the finish of the construction process, and enjoy visiting his workshop, which is situated in a dynamic central location in Berlin.

Repairs/restoration
Any repairs or restoration works which become necessary are carried out at Bettina Hayns workshop to the highest level and with the greatest care.

In der Geigenbauwerkstatt Ragnar Hayn wird auf jeden Arbeitsschritt viel Zeit und Sorgfalt verwendet.

Material
Die Arbeit an einem Instrument beginnt bei der Auswahl der Materialien. Es werden nur die besten verwendet: Fichtenholz aus den norditalienischen Dolomiten, Ahornholz aus Bosnien sowie Öllacke aus eigener Herstellung nach historischen Rezepten.

Modelle
Es werden neue Instrumente und Kopien alter Instrumente angefertigt, deren Originalform zum Teil nach wieder entdeckten Methoden rekonstruiert wird. Dabei werden häufig auch erstklassige Musiker zu Rate gezogen, damit nicht nur klanglich sondern auch spieltechnisch die Instrumente den hohen Ansprüchen der Musiker genügen. Die Arbeitstechnik richtet sich immer nach dem neuesten Stand der historischen und modernen Forschung des Streichinstrumentenbaus.

Klang
Ein Instrument ist erst dann wirklich fertig, wenn die Klangeinstellung nach Vorstellung und Bedürfnis des künftigen Besitzers vorgenommen wurden. Hier nimmt sich Ragnar Hayn viel Zeit für die individuelle Beratung, damit das Potential des Instrumentes voll ausgeschöpft werden kann. Beratung, Klangeinstellung sowie die erste Wartung sind deshalb inklusive.
Viele Orchester- und Solomusiker wissen inzwischen zu schätzen, wie stark Ragnar Hayn seinen Instrumenten vom Anfang bis zum Ende des Entstehensprozesses verpflichtet ist und suchen seine im lebendigen Zentrum Berlins gelegene Werkstatt gerne auf.

Reparaturen/Restaurierung
Anfallende Reparatur- und Restaurierungsarbeiten werden in der Werkstatt von Bettina Hayn auf höchstem Niveau und mit äußerster Sorgfalt durchgeführt.